Let spring commence! Seed starting underway

After three consecutive weeks of record cold and multiple winter storms bringing at least 6” of snow, the weather is finally turning the corner and spring is in sight. Which of course means seed-starting time! First, I checked the dates on the seed packages to make sure they are still viable. I also referred to this handy chart in my Master Gardener handbook:

 

A few had to be tossed, but most were still relatively recent. Then I got my grow light setup re-assembled and planted spinach, lettuce, kale, broccoli, and beet seeds. Once those are up, I’ll get them acclimated to the outdoors via our recently-completed mini greenhouse:

hoophouse

Once those are hardened off and planted, the summer veggies are next: slicing tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, squash, cukes, eggplant and okra. This year, I really want to avoid watering by hand as much as possible (just about everything in pots died last summer as I didn’t have time to keep them constantly watered), so my wife and I are looking at some irrigation ideas. At the top of our list at the moment is this idea, which involves running drip line micro tubes from the main hose to the base of each plant, then hooking the main hose into a timer. Meanwhile, the winter rye cover crop I planted should be resuming growth soon as average temperatures start to climb.

That’s it for now, more to come as the new growing season sets in!

This entry was posted in Edible Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

