My improvised seed starting setup

After much hemming and hawing about a grow light set up for starting my seeds this year, I finally just decided to buy a 2nd piano lamp and a Jiffy seed kit:

100_1824

I didn’t feel good about spending $200 or so on the more industrial shop-light looking setup, when these lamps work well enough (though admittedly, I can’t fit quite as many seedlings under them). I’ll be starting with lettuce and spinach, then moving on to peppers, squash, and tomatoes. I’m excited to be trying heirlooms for the first time!

What vegetables are you trying this year? What kind of set up do you have for starting seeds? Leave a comment!

This entry was posted in Edible Gardening, Propagation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

