A New Year in the Garden

Thank you for joining me at my new blog! Can you believe spring is just around the corner already? As we go into the new growing season, I will continue to post my gardening experiences and findings.

Right now, I’m trying to pare down what vegetables I want to grow this year. It’s especially tough because my yard only has pockets that get full sun. So, to get the most out of it, I rotate crops through my two 4 x 4 raised beds. I start with cool season crops like lettuce, kale, and spinach, and when those finish, I pull them out and replant with tomatoes, squash, peppers, and cukes. When those are done, usually by early fall, I go back to the spinach, kale, lettuce, and maybe some butternut squash.

I’m going to be doing a few things different this year. Instead of plastic containers, I’ll be growing my herbs and tomatoes in Smart Pots (another brand is called GeoPlanter)…which are fabric pots made of polyethylene that lets the root zone “breath” and air prunes roots as they grow out from the plant. This prevents the roots from circling the container and restricting growth. Secondly, instead of Miracle Grow, I’m going to try a fish emulsion/seaweed fertilizer made by Neptune’s Harvest. It’s completely organic, containing lots of micro-nutrients not found in chemical fertilizers. Since I can always count on squirrels running off with some of my veggies, I want to get the most out of my plants. Though, a makeshift cage to put over the raised beds will likely be a project near the top of my list this time.

That’s it for now…stay tuned for more gardening goodness.

This entry was posted in Edible Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

